Korean Stamp Portal Service K-stamp

Stamp tells exciting stories! Welcome to the Korean Stamp Portal System


home Stamp Collecting Information on Korean Stamps Stamp Gallery

left menu title

  • Information on Korean stamp
    • History
    • Stamp gallery
    • Stamp Issuance Program
  • K-stamp news
  • Philatelic Focus
    • K-stamp Focus
    • Stamp Story
    • K-stamp news

Stmap Gallery

Korea National Park Service 3050 Anniversary
Stamp Picture
zoom   Shopping
클릭하면 확대되어 보입니다. 클릭하면 확대되어 보입니다.
information on Korean stamp
Date of Issue : 2017.05.29
Types : 2
Denomination : 330 won
Design :
Stamp No. : 3205
Printing Process
& Colors
: Offset, Four Colors + Pantone Silver
Size of Stamp : 40mm × 30mm
: (2 × 4) × 2
Image Area : 40mm × 30mm
Paper : White Unwatermarked
Perforation : 13 × 13¼
Printer : Cartor for POSA
Designer : Park,Eun-kyung
Quantity : 280,000 stamps each
Designated and managed by the government of the Republic of Korea to ensure preservation and sustainability, the National Parks of Korea are the areas considered most representative of Koreas natural ecosystems, scenery, and culture. Korea Post is issuing Korea National Park Service 3050 Anniversary stamps to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the National Park system and the 30th anniversary of the Korea National Park Service. The Korea National Park Service 3050 Anniversary stamps feature a park ranger and flagship species representing the ecosystem of each national park, against the backdrop of Jirisan National Park, the first national park in Korea. The featured species are the Geumgang chorong (diamond bluebell) of Mt. Chiaksan, the Jeffersonia dubia of Mt. Gyeryongsan, the Asian black bear (moon bear) of Mt. Jirisan, the otter of Mt. Mudeungsan, the Fairy pitta of Hallyeohaesang, and the fox of Mt. Sobaeksan. There were attempts to designate Buyeo and Mt. Geumgangsan as national parks during the Japanese occupation period. In 1959, after Korea won its national independence, an effort to institute a national park act failed. A new movement to pass the act was later ignited when the residents of Gurye-gun, who were concerned about the deterioration of Mt. Jirisan‘s natural environment, organized the Jirisan National Park Steering Committee. Giving a glimpse into the then situation, The National Parks of Korea (published by the Ministry of Construction in December 1974) states, “All of the local residents campaigned to have the area designated as a national park, but the government did not even have a relevant department.” Since Mt. Jirisan became the first national park in 1967, a total of 22 national parks have been designated and managed nationwide, with Mt. Taebaeksan joining the list last year. There are three types of national parks in Korea: mountainous, marine & coastal, and historical. │Mountainous National Parks Jirisan, Gyeryongsan, Seoraksan, Songnisan, Hallasan, Naejangsan, Gayasan, Deogyusan, Odaesan, Juwangsan, Chiaksan, Woraksan, Bukhansan, Sobaeksan, Wolchulsan, Mudeungsan, Taebaeksan │Marine & Coastal National Parks Hallyeohaesang, Taeanhaean, Dadohaehaesang, Byeonsanbando │Historical National Park Gyeongju Designated in various mountainous and coastal regions, the national parks are living heritage that represents the natural beauty of Korea. Korea Post hopes that Korea National Park Service 3050 Anniversary events that are to be held throughout 2017 will attract substantial public support and participation. The commemorative events aim to remind the public that national parks are precious sanctuaries for both humans and nature and must be protected and preserved for future generations.